Advanced Search

Dual grit edges?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 16 total)
  • Author
    phillyjudge
    Participant
    • Topics: 21
    • Replies: 63

As I continue to improve my technique to really nail an apex with matching symmetrical bevels, a new variable pops up.

I recently got served up a number of YouTubes where the video shows the benefits of having one side of the bevel coarse and the other fine…

I love the toothy feel of a 600 grit edge but also love the push cut ability of something finer… I have polished the bevels and microbeveled coarse, but is a  left/right dual grit the best of both worlds? Or snake oil?

airscapes
    Participant
    • Topics: 19
    • Replies: 367

Try it and see if you like it!  I have no experience with it and if it was really effective wouldn’t it be something the manufactures would do all do?

This reminds me of my first class  in automotive school back in the 80s.  A fellow students asked about some “High Performance add on accessory” and how great  it must be  and the teacher replied, if it was that simple, don’t you thing the manufacture would have done this at the factory?    Not saying this is snake oil, but also  not seeing (in my mind) how it would really help on a knife with equal bevels.  The way I understand it it, the apex cuts and you want the sides to slide though  whatever you are cutting (meat for instance).  The sides of the bevel don’t cut anything that I am aware of.   So how do you make an Apex 2 different grits when it ends at a peak?   Normally to get the best of both worlds, you finish your bevels and then add a micro bevel at a slightly wider angle using a courser grit.

Only way to know is to sharpen your most frequently used (something you are very familiar with how it cuts) knife in the manner in which you want to test and see how it performs.

2 users thanked author for this post.
    Brewbear
    Participant
    • Topics: 7
    • Replies: 168