Advanced Search

number of passes

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Jeffrey
    Participant
    • Topics: 1
    • Replies: 0

I’m new to the system, and have read quite a number of hints. My question is (and I know the number is highly variable), what is an order of magnitude to first sharpen a VERY dull knife with a hardness of german kitchen steel (Wusthoff, Henckle, 56-58 Rockwell etc).  I’m looking to create an angle of 20° starting with a 100 diamond and working toward 600. No pressure on the blade other than the stone.  Is to 10 passes, 50, 100? Anyone have some experience to share?

NorCalQ
    Participant
    • Topics: 54
    • Replies: 149

Others with more experience will chime in.  Tough question.  Kinda depends on how dull the blade is.  I can say the number for me has been closer to 100 strokes, but it’s really about when the burr is formed.

1 user thanked author for this post.
    Marc H
    • Topics: 74
    • Replies: 2735

Welcome to the forum Jeffrey.

I prefer to use a results driven method for knife sharpening.  Like NorCalQ wrote above,  it “kinda depends”.

I visually inspect the edge I’m starting with.  This helps me to determine my starting grit based on the condition of the edge or level of damage there may be. Then, I continually spot check the edge as I work it with the grit I choose to use to bring the edge’s profile back. I’m not a stroke counter.  I do whatever it takes to get the bevel ready to move up to the next finer grit.  Grit after grit.  If I feel like I’m working too hard at it with my grit first choice, I drop down to a more coarse grit, then get back at.  Sharpening and inspecting. Only when it looks and feels right do I move on.