Advanced Search

Polishing an Elmax blade

Recent Forums Main Forum Techniques and Sharpening Strategies Polishing an Elmax blade

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 32 total)
  • Author
    Rick
    Participant
    • Topics: 9
    • Replies: 54

Im still new to this system so I think I might be missing something.
    With the Wicked Edge I have been able to put a nice polish and every blade I have sharpened so far, even mirrored a few. However, I have a Microtech with an Elmax blade I want to mirror polish. I am using the Wicked Edge pro pack II. What I have found is that this steel, while easy to sharpen, especially with the Wicked Edge, is truning out to be a bastard to polish. The pro pack II jumps from the 1000 grit diamond stone to the micro fine ceramics 1.4/.6 micron. I just cant seem to get the scratch pattern from the 1000 grit out of there. So far I have done some stainless steels, and carbon blades, VG10, and havent had any issues, but this Elmax is just not wanting to go easy on me. :side: I am now wondering should I use some 1500 and 2000 grit sandpaper to “fill” in the gap from the 1k grit diamon stone to the ceramics untill I pick up the superfine 1200/1600 ceramics, or just keep working the micro ceramics? Or, is this just bad technique on my part? Thanks folks.

wickededge
    Keymaster
    • Topics: 123
    • Replies: 2938

I advise patience before adding more to your system – do a few more knives and then come back to it. By then, your stones should be much more broken in, especially your finer diamonds and it will be easier to clean up their scratches.

-Clay

Steven N. Bolin
    Participant
    • Topics: 47
    • Replies: 456

I advise patience before adding more to your system – do a few more knives and then come back to it.