Advanced Search

How to sharpen blades greater than 59HRC

Recent Forums Main Forum Techniques and Sharpening Strategies Abrasives How to sharpen blades greater than 59HRC

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    Bryce Herbst
    Participant
    • Topics: 1
    • Replies: 8

I’m a newbie.  My wife has several great chef knives (a Kramer, Zwilling Twin Cermax, a Shun, and several SG2 blades with Rockwells ranging from 61 to 63.

After hearing some horror stories about using diamond stones, I fear destroying these blades if I use my existing diamond stones.

What stones should I use?  What should be my sharpening sequence.  I have WE diamond stones ranging from 50 to 3,000 grit, plus glass platen handles from 0.1 to 3.o micron.

I don’t have any ceramic stones.

Appreciate all your help and advice.

Thanks.

MarcH
    • Topics: 74
    • Replies: 2733

Welcome to the Wicked Edge forum, Bryce Herbst.

I’m a proponent of using the sharpening medium that will sharpen your knife’s steel the best.  Your fears of damaging those steels are well founded and based in real experiences.   Harder steels such as you related, harder than HRc 59-60 can be more on the brittle side and may suffer damage in the form of edge chipping or fall off.  Whereas the softer steels may fold or roll the edge with damage from use.

I almost exclusively use whetstones made to be used with the Wicked Edge systems for these harder steels.  Still, the rule’s not so black and white. Some of the harder steels I’ve found do sharpen quite well and easily with diamond sharpening stones.  Whereas other similarly rated hard, but different steels will suffer severe edge damage with diamond stones.