Advanced Search

Am I over thinking this?

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Marc H
    • Topics: 74
    • Replies: 2735

I’m just a home cook that likes really sharp kitchen knives. When I prep my dinner, a sharp blade that just glides through my food makes me smile. Mostly I had a bunch of old knives I’d been using for years. I sharpened them with all different methods. Some with good results and some just so so results. That’s why I bought the WEPS Pro II around a year ago. Now I have a bunch of very sharp knives. When I started using the WEPS I needed to know what bevel angle to set the mangled knife blades to. I did this by researching the internet for factory specs or by reading and searching this Forum and other sharpening forums to determine what the practical and suggested bevel angle was for that particular brand and type of knife and steel.

All of my knives are FFG so they tend to lean left when clamped. After I decided what angle I wanted to sharpen the knife to, I measured the clamping lean, then calculated for the correction and then set the arms with an angle cube and had at it.

So for the past year I actually had been re-profiling my knives. I recorded those setting in my sharpening log so now I refer to my numbers when I sharpen my knives. I did adjust the angles to improve durability and cutting keenness as I continued to use and re-sharpen the knives. All this I learned over time through a lot of reading and interacting on this Forum and a lot of practice sharpening and using my knives.