Advanced Search

Why Wicked Edge?

Recent Forums Main Forum Getting Started Why Wicked Edge?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 17 total)
  • Author
    William
    Participant
    • Topics: 9
    • Replies: 38

Hello from Reno!  I joined the group in that I might become a WE owner.  Not sure yet.  I apologize in advance for any blasphemous or heretical words that may follow.  I would be in remisss if I didn’t say the KME system has also been researched and I came very close to pulling the trigger.  No doubt, there is a lot of bang for the buck in that system.    But…..

If I did purchase a WE system, it would be the Pro-Pack III or slight variance thereof.

Why the PPIII?   It has everything I would need to learn basic sharpening techniques and advanced like polishing   As a newb, I certainly don’t need the advanced stuff.   But I want to.  I have the time as I have six Saturdays and a Sunday.  😉  In KME, I looked at the Deluxe system with lapping kit.  Not sure apples to apples or to oranges.

Background:  Little above zero in sharpening knives.  Maybe a little more in sharpening hand planes and a couple of chisels (very basic though).

I have several EDC.  Couple are good, some not. Kitchen knives.  Maybe sharpen for friends and family.  Next several months, maybe looking into making a few.

First is ease of setup ad use..

Another big thing for me is fast repeatability.   When the Wife says knife needs a touch up.  How fast (relatively speaking)?   I think I read just keep notes of placement.   I think with KME, I read take a pic or eyeball it and use the Sharpie.   Is it as fast as clamping blade in according to notes and a couple of strokes with the strop?

Next, while I do have the time, I don’t like to waste it unnecessarily.   So efficiency is also important.  It would appear that the ability to work both sides of the blade would be efficient as opposed to pausing to flip the blade.