Advanced Search

Talk me into a 130

Recent Forums Main Forum Welcome Mat Talk me into a 130

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    MIKE
    Participant
    • Topics: 1
    • Replies: 5

Hi guys first post here. After much research I have decided that the WE is the right platform for me. I will be sharpening only a handful of knives a year. I assume once I get good I will do this for my friends too. I am an engineer and have the skillset to properly setup a device if it has the capability to be set properly. I am not in too much of a hurry.

Can someone talk me into buying the 130 if I think the 120 will suit me just fine? There is a steep price increase between the two kits. I plan to buy the basic kit at first and add on the 800 / 1000 and the 4 / 2 micron strop set immediately. I will have a dedicated spot to sharpen on my reloading bench. I do not have much experience sharpening. I have a Worksharp Ken Onion and the Spyderco set in my SHTF kit. I want to have the ability to sharpen a perfect edge and with practice and I feel the WE will give me the best opportunity to do so.

Knives include western kitchen knives but I want to eventually get Eastern knives. I have a bunch of folders and a few fixed blades under 10″.

Can someone recommend some “cheap” knives where I can gain experience and break my stones in? I don’t have any junkers laying around, and by sharpening thus far with the Workshop, I am sure I have my work cut out for me getting rid of that convex edge. Luckily I haven’t sharpened any of my good knives yet like my Chris Reeves.

• This topic was modified 3 years, 7 months ago by MIKE.
    1 user thanked author for this post.
    airscapes
    Participant
    • Topics: 19
    • Replies: 367

I did that same thing.. by the time I was done, spent more than the 130 and still needed the upgraded vice.. got one from a friend that was an original gen 3.  If you think you can do the 120 and plan to add to it, go for the 130 and be done.