Advanced Search

new guy

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    Tony
    Participant
    • Topics: 1
    • Replies: 0

Hello I need some advice. Im new to sharpening knives and the wicked edge. I have the gen 3 pro. I have the stones that came with it. I already have the 5/3.5 micron and leather strops. Also have the 1/0.5 micron and leather strops. Im already getting the 1500/2200 diamond. Do I need the 3000 diamond with glass for the 6 micron. Thank you everyone

Marc H
    • Topics: 74
    • Replies: 2735

Welcome to the Wicked Edge Forum, Tony.  Not to be making fun of you and all the rest of us Wicked Edge users, but we don’t need our Wicked Edge Sharpeners.  We ended up here together on this forum using Wicked Edge Sharpeners, in our search for the perfect sharp and beautifully polished knife edge. The basic stones that come with any of the set-ups are enough to produce a remarkedly sharp knife edge once your stones are broken in well and you learn how to use the system properly.  Every other accessory stones are just more toys to feed our desire to achieve the perfect mirrored edge.

I have and use the 1500, 2200, and 3000 grit and follow this up with at least, the 4µ/2µ strop pair when using the diamond stone progression.  It makes for a very fine sharp and well polished knife edge.

I have every sharpening and polishing medium you’re asking if you need, and many more, too.  (Everything Wicked Edge offers and more). It’s all about how much you desire to have those results.  How much you’re looking to get into this search.  How obsessed you are.