Advanced Search

My knives aren't getting sharp anymore – help?

Recent Forums Main Forum Techniques and Sharpening Strategies Basic Techniques and Sharpening Strategies My knives aren't getting sharp anymore – help?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 19 total)
  • Author
    mike
    Participant
    • Topics: 13
    • Replies: 33

I’ve been using my wicked edge for several months now and I’m starting to think that some of my stones aren’t working anymore. i have a gen 1 with all standard stones 100 grit up to 1k. I also have the ceramic and micro fine ceramic stones. I use a victorinox breaking knife for work and I tend to sharpen it every 3 days. At this point ,my 200 grit stones cut harder than my 100 grit stones, and my 800 cuts harder than my 600. I just tried sharpening my knife this morning and it doesn’t seem like its getting crazy sharp like it used to. Is it time to replace some of my stones? has my knife bevel gotten too thick to get very sharp due to sharpening?

side note – this knife sees tons of abuse every day at, and I used to sharpen it on a 100, 200, 300 grit stone free hand at work

edge apexing – i use a marker along the edge every time to make sure that im removing marker along the entire edge. A while ago I made sure I had a huge burr on the edge to make sure the knife is totally apexed. Nowadays I try to feel for as small of a burr as possible so as to not remove so much metal from the edge.

help me figure out what I need to do here so I can get clean crisp super sharp edges again. I rely so heavily on having a really sharp knife for work that my fatigue is directly related to my knife sharpness.

cbwx34
    Participant
    • Topics: 57
    • Replies: 1505

It sounds to me like to separate issues: