Advanced Search

How do I sharpen TradaFor single bevel vegetable knife?

Recent Forums Main Forum Techniques and Sharpening Strategies Tips for Specific Knife Grinds and Styles How do I sharpen TradaFor single bevel vegetable knife?

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    Griller
    Participant
    • Topics: 1
    • Replies: 0

Hey folks. I’m relatively new to the WE but so far I’ve been able to get all my kitchen knives sharp. But now I’ve tried to sharpen a TradaFor vegetable knife that I received as a gift and it’s just not working. This knife is different than all my other Wursthoff and Chicago Cutlery knives in that it is flat on one side and beveled on the other. I first tried to just sharpen it just like all my other knives thinking that I could draw a burr and make a bevel on both sides. Didn’t make it very sharp. Tried just sharpening the one side. Didn’t work either. What am I missing here? Tried to attach a couple pics but the files are too large. Thanks in advance.

Marc H
    • Topics: 74
    • Replies: 2735

Welcome to the W. E. forum, Griller.

This may help:

Clay called this knife a Nakiri. A Nakiri and a Usuba are very similarly shaped Japanese style vegetable knives.  The Nakiri is a double bevel knife, whereas the Usuba is the single bevel counterpart.

Clay used Naniwa Chosera whetstones to sharpen the Shun knife, in this video. Depending on the type of steel in your knife, it’s hardness, and the sharpening stones you have in your collection, the choice will be yours on which stones you to use.

The Shun Usuba, (in the video), has a slight dished or concave profile to the backside of the blade.  After you watch this video for the sharpening technique it shares, if you have specific questions relating to your particular knife’s profile, if it differs from the knife in the video, we can try to help you more specifically.

Marc
    (MarcH's Rack-Its)

2 users thanked author for this post.
    tcmeyer
    Participant