Advanced Search

Help – scratches on blade

Recent Forums Main Forum Techniques and Sharpening Strategies Help – scratches on blade

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Mark Massie
    Participant
    • Topics: 9
    • Replies: 37

Hello everyone,  I am a long time user and this year I have upgraded to the Gen 3 vice with the original pro pack diamond stones that are at least 6-7 years old.  I am not an expert but not a novice either and have successfully sharpened hundreds of knives.  However, since I started using the Gen 3 vice, I am see scratches on the blade below the bevel on both sides of the blade and simply cannot figure how this is happening as I am using the same set-up technique that I have always used.  IMG_1549

I have attached two pictures of the both sides of a blade I sharpened as well as a picture of the set up used to sharpen the blade.  When establishing the angle, for this blade, I simply selected the lowest angle that would prevent the stone from touching the clamp.  I know the picture is not great, but the stone is absolutely only touching the bevel of the blade and is not touching any part of the blade below the bevel.  I am literally ruining the blades and cannot understand how this is happening.  Any help or ideas would be much appreciated.

Attachments:
    tcmeyer
    Participant
    • Topics: 38
    • Replies: 2095

Those are scratches caused by letting the stones slide off the bevels.  It may be related to your upgrade to the Gen 3 vise.  Is it maybe a little higher than before?

Mark Massie
    Participant

Sir,