Advanced Search

Edge losing shine after stropping?

Recent Forums Main Forum Stropping Edge losing shine after stropping?

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    Justin
    Participant
    • Topics: 2
    • Replies: 7

Hello. My name is Justin. Im new to the Wicked Edge and been cruising the forum to learn tips and tricks for a sharp edge. I acquired the WE-130 last week with the 800/1000 diamond and 1200/1600 ceramic stones. I’ve already sharpened just about every knife I own (10-15) and my girlfriends kitchen knife set (4). I noticed after hitting the 1600 ceramic Im halfway to a mirror finish. I just got the 5/3.5 and 1/.5 micron strops. I went to one of my kitchen knives I already sharpened to 1600 and that I knew I could drop down 2 degrees to strop. After stropping it looked like the shine dropped down to the appearance of the 800/1000 stones. Is there also a break in period for the strops or am I doing something wrong? Thanks fellas!

Marc H
    • Topics: 74
    • Replies: 2735

Welcome to the Wicked Forum and our sharpening community.

There is no break-in period on the strops but they do have a learning curve unto themselves.  Dropping down 2º suggests you’re doing your homework and that you’ve done some pre-reading on the forum.  When you reclamp an already sharpened knife, like your kitchen knife, it’s super important that you get the original clamping position “right on the mark” to be sure your additional effort, in this case, stropping is applied right where it needs to be.  If your second clamping position is just slightly off you may not be able to see or realize the benefits gained when stropping.