Advanced Search

Another stones progression question

Recent Forums Main Forum Techniques and Sharpening Strategies Abrasives Another stones progression question

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 16 total)
  • Author
    Brewbear
    Participant
    • Topics: 7
    • Replies: 168

Hi all,

I am very new to this and so far I am getting good, sharp edges on the 5 or 6 knives I practiced on. I have the 1500 grit/6 micron diamond film as my last step in the progression. I have also purchased a pair of cut proof gloves (found them necessary after the first knife) and several split shaft stops. I am looking at my next purchases and trying to decide on what should be next. From reading the forum posts, I understand the ceramic stones can be used instead  of diamond film keeping in mind they require more work (strokes) to achieve a finish similar to the diamond films, all that being offset by their durability and longevity. So, should I get the ceramic stones set (super fine and micro fine) or complete the progression of diamond films (3, 1.5, 1 and 0.1 microns respectively). I should add that I’m not planning on “going commercial” with this, it is just a home and friends addiction.

The next in line will be stropping, which I have absolutely no clue about. I understand what it does but which ones should I get?

Thank you in advance,

Brewbear a.k.a. Ted

• This topic was modified 4 years, 11 months ago by Brewbear.
    Organic
    Participant
    • Topics: 17
    • Replies: 929

Similar in finish to the diamond lapping films is a statement that I take issue with. The ceramic stones provide a sharp finish that is kind of hazy. They don’t seem to be able to produce that mirror-like glitzy looking edge that the diamond lapping films excel at. This is not to say that you can’t produce a mirrored edge using the ceramic stones as part of a progression. The edge can be easily mirrored by using strops after the ceramic stones.