Advanced Search

Tuff Grind Marks! Help!

Recent Forums Main Forum Getting Started Tuff Grind Marks! Help!

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    NorCalQ
    Participant
    • Topics: 54
    • Replies: 149

No doubt I am new to WE and appreciate all the posts to learn from.  I’ve been diving into my first practice blade and am enjoying it already.  I do have a  question.  I’ve been progressing up the grits from 200 to 1K and all has been great.  I’ve been making sure I have a good burr at all points along the way.  When I switched to leather strops, I am finding it difficult to work out the grind marks.  In hand sharpening, I’m used to going from 1K to 4K to 8K to 15K, then to stropping.  By that time I get a pretty good reflection from the green compounded strop.  Am I expecting too much, too soon, as far as grind marks being tuff to get rid of…I mean, I’ve read that new diamond stones take a while to break in, before they start to mellow out.  Is that the case here or am simply not working out the marks along the way?

That said, I’m still getting an extremely sharp edge…just not a pretty one…yet.  Thanks.

1 user thanked author for this post.
    Toxophilus
    Participant
    • Topics: 2
    • Replies: 12

I seem to recall that when using the strops (depending on the thickness of the strops) using them may cause a steeper angle?  You may want to try using a bit of sharpie on the blade and strop that section to determine what kind of contact you’re getting on the blade.

Marc H
    • Topics: 74
    • Replies: 2735

NorCalQ, you are correct on both counts.  The new not yet broken-in stones will scratch rougher then when they are broken in.  During break-in loose diamond stones are shed and the high stones get knocked off or knocked down.  The broken-in stones yield more consistent, even and predictable scratch patterns.