Advanced Search

Sharpening tip for Schrade USA 152

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    AK Jim
    Participant
    • Topics: 14
    • Replies: 15

Hi folks I’m new to the WE Family and am learning daily! Question for you folks, I have a Schrade USA 152 and want to sharpen it without ruining it. I’m a bit perplexed on where to mount it and what the factory bevel might have been? I am a novice at this but am learning to really enjoy it! Any help woul be greatly appreciated.

Attachments:
    CliffCurry
    Participant
    • Topics: 42
    • Replies: 461

Welcome to the forum and what a nice looking lil beast that Schrade looks like…Id refer you to the youtube mounting tutorial(and all the others) by Josh of Razor Edged fame 😛

As for the angle to set? That depends on the steel and how hard you are gonna work it. One theory is to take it thinner(17dps, 15dps, 13dps etc) and if it fails at the apex for some reason, then just dial it back a bit. Another common setting is 20dps(degrees per side) and you shouldnt have to worry about it failing but you wont get the edge performance and total cutting efficiency(how long you can cut before it feels dulled).

As long as you check your angles and make sure its all clamped down, its pretty hard to do something you can undo…the sharpie trick on the edge is a great way to match the current edge bevel and minimize that amount of reprofiling needed!

Aloha,
    Cliff

tcmeyer
    Participant
    • Topics: 38
    • Replies: 2095

Ooh, ooh, ooh! That’s the old “Sharp Finger.” I always wanted one of them, but when I could finally afford it (and they’re really inexpensive) I was already making my own knives and it just didn’t seem right to buy an inexpensive knife when I could make a very good one for less cost.