Advanced Search

Sharpening a Serrated Edge

Recent Forums Main Forum Techniques and Sharpening Strategies Sharpening a Serrated Edge

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 19 total)
  • Author
    Dan
    Participant
    • Topics: 2
    • Replies: 10

I bought my WEPS just over 2 months ago, so I’m fairly new to sharpening knives as a hobby. I’ve broken in my stones and I’m producing some incredible edges. However, my serrated edges are being neglected. I want to learn how to sharpen them, but I wanted to get a professional’s or another hobbist’s opinion(s) first before I spend any money. I’ve looked on YouTube and seen people sharpening with stone wheels, polishing wheels, coned files and electric sharpeners. I really don’t know what the best way is. Any one have any inputs on the best way to sharpen a serrated edge? Additionally, does anyone know if a polishing wheel will take off the black powder coating off of the knife?

Josh
    Participant
    • Topics: 89
    • Replies: 1672

You mentioned stone wheels… that was probably the system I threw together because I was in the exact same dilema you were in, except for I was running a sharpening business and needed a way that was accurate and efficient at sharpening serrated edges. Finally I figured it out!

Wicked Edge doesn’t have anything yet, but Clay assures us that it is in the works. But as with anything, it takes time to put out a quality product that has a patent applied for on it.

The only thing you have to be worried about with powered systems is the heat… so keep that in mind.

If you are using the Razor Sharp shaper wheel w/ polishing compound then yes, it should remove any paint you have on your edge. However, if you let it walk up the side of your blade, it will scuff it, but it will not remove the paint to the bare metal without a lot of effort.

Dan
    Participant