Advanced Search

Sharpening a rare/ discontinued knife

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    tony carle
    Participant
    • Topics: 1
    • Replies: 1

Hi guys,

This is my first time posting on the forum, but I’ve been using my WEPS for about 3 years now. My question is, how do you guys feel about sharpening rare/ discontinued/ sprint run knives? For me I am hesitant to sharpen them because A) I’m afraid I’ll mess up the edge and B) I feel it will diminish the value of the knife. Let me know how you guys feel about this.

Mark76
    Participant
    • Topics: 179
    • Replies: 2760

Hi Tony,

Welcome to the forum! Personally I’ve no problems with sharpening nice new knives. I’ve a fair amount of hardly used knives and I find that just (properly) sharpening it, doesn’t diminish its value. In fact, I always offer to sharpen a knife before sending it, when I sell this. And quite a few people like this.

But if you’re afraid you could mess up the edge, it might be better to practice a bit more on beaters. (Although, if you’ve been using the WEPS for three years already…)

Molecule Polishing: my blog about sharpening with the Wicked Edge

Josh
    Participant
    • Topics: 89
    • Replies: 1672

Interesting question and answer by mark…

I have found that sharpening does tend to de-value a knife from it’s new factory condition (only due to ignorance… people think that’s the “best” state when in fact it can be made sharper on the WEPS and the factory edge is most likely damaged from the power grinding).

So I would say that if it is a collector piece only then no, don’t sharpen it. but if it is a user then it’s value has gone down as much as it will probably and you would be fine.

Mark76
    Participant