Advanced Search

Pro Pack 2 – Stone Progression?

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    William Hoppe
    Participant
    • Topics: 1
    • Replies: 3

Hi Everyone!

I am new to the WEPS and am very excited about diving in and learning as much as possible. I bought the a Pro Pack 2 and since taking delivery I have sharpened 4 knives (still breaking the stones in).

Over the past few weeks I have been doing a ton of reading on here and the information has been great. However, I am still a little confused on the recommended stone/grit progression beyond the 1000 grit diamonds though. Hopefully yall can help me out…

My Pro Pack 2 came with the following: 100/200 diamonds, 400/600 diamonds, 800/1000 diamonds, 1.4/0.6 micron ceramics, and 1/0.5 micron leather strops.

My question is this: Is the above list a good progression order to use OR do I need to purchase some additional grit paddles to achieve good results?

I guess I’m really wondering if the leap from the 1000 grit diamond to the 1.4 micron ceramic is too big of a jump? In other words, would it be necessary (or preferred) to buy the 1200/1600 grit ceramics as a stepping stone between the two?

Same question following the micro fine ceramics… Is the leap from the 1.4/0.6 micron ceramics to the 1/0.5 micron strops too large? Would it be necessary to buy the 5/3.5 micron strops for in-between use?

Sorry for the newbie questions – I just want to make sure I’m not wasting my time if I should be doing a different progression.

Cheers!

Mark76
    Participant
    • Topics: 179
    • Replies: 2760

Hi thoops, welcome to the forum! Enjoy your WEPS!

I think the order in which you mentioned the stones/strops is the preferred progression. The jump from the 1000 diamonds to the 1.4 micron ceramics is also not too big; it should work out just fine.