Advanced Search

Interested…help narrowing it down please

Recent Forums Main Forum Interested…help narrowing it down please

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 43 total)
  • Author
    jrk
    Participant
    • Topics: 3
    • Replies: 8

I’ve read a few posts about new users making decisions on what system to buy, so if I missed something out there that would answer my questions, I’d appreciate the heads up.

I was close to buying a belt grinder, or maybe even a Ken Onion Work Sharp, but have been interested in this system for a while.

I’m not a professional, nor do I have aspirations to make a living as a sharpener.  I do however want a system that I can confidently put an edge on my small collection of pocket and fixed blades that I and my family have.  I admit that I suck at stones, etc…so I don’t have much experience with sharpening.

I want to know what system would best suit my needs to put a hair popping edge on my knives.  Knives I would be sharpening mostly would be several sebenzas, benchmades, spydercos…bark river and other smaller fixed blades, and last but not least would be a new set of nice kitchen knives.

What would be the best model for the money that would allow me to do this without spending money on niceties that are needed by pros?  As the models become more expensive, are there any compelling reasons to move to these for the money based on what I want to do for the type of knives I want to sharpen?

Thanks for the time and information/guidance.

1 user thanked author for this post.
    Pinkfloyd
    Participant
    • Topics: 22
    • Replies: 208

JRK,
    Welcome to the forum!