Advanced Search

Getting started

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 18 total)
  • Author
    Eric Cleland
    Participant
    • Topics: 5
    • Replies: 16

I am new at sharpening but I have had my WE for a year and still cant figure out to use. The problem I have is figuring out how to set the angle for the different knives from kitchen knives, to hunting knifes, to caping knifes etc. I have read the phamphlet that came with my sharpener but did not seem to change anything. Now I go on you tube and there are up grades and changes already that are being made and I cannot even get the pro pack model that I have to work let alone think about the upgrades some one please help. I really want this to work so I can finally learn how to sharpen a knife correctly.

PS I am new to the forum today.

Kyle Mazur
    Participant
    • Topics: 3
    • Replies: 21

Welcome Eric!

Here’s my advice. Pick one knife. One that you like but not love and work on that. Determine what kind of knife it is what you’re going to be cutting with it and what kind of steel it is.

Once we know the above information it’ll be easier to recommend an angle for you.

The next thing is to work on your technique and break in your stones. I just received my wicked edge a week or 2 ago now and Clay was explaining to me why breaking in the stones is so important. There are some great pictures there from Clay that illustrate it. I’m still not 100% happy with my results but it’s getting much better.

The nice thing about the wicked edge is you can change your angles. If you sharpen it once and you don’t like it you can change it. Make sure you keep track of your angles you use on each knife. that helps too!

kmm

Eric Cleland
    Participant