Advanced Search

Do you remove small chips ASAP?

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Lukas Pop
    Participant
    • Topics: 10
    • Replies: 109

Hi guys, do you remove small chips on your working edges immediately, or they don’t bother you?

Josh
    Participant
    • Topics: 89
    • Replies: 1672

I don’t normally get chips… just wear. but yeah, I do pretty much immediately… it bothers me too much to leave em lol

tcmeyer
    Participant
    • Topics: 38
    • Replies: 2095

I get lots of chips… on my cheap knives. And yes, they bother me and go right to the WE vise. More often, I get dents or dings or whatever you want to call them; plastic deformation of the edge.

You may be asking the wrong demographic here. We’re all nuts about making stuff really sharp and won’t tolerate a knife that’s not really sharp. Until I graduated to the WE system, I’d wait until the damage was affecting the usability of the knife. That usually meant that the knife was used until it was dull. Hell, I didn’t even know that my knives were getting chips and dings. All I knew was that they wouldn’t cut worth a darn.

I’ve never heard anyone suggest that letting a chip go unattended might propagate more chips. That’s not what you’re asking, is it?

wickededge
    Keymaster
    • Topics: 123
    • Replies: 2938

Some people I talk to feel that removing chips is an unnecessary waste of metal because so much has to be removed to get to the bottom of the chip so they advocate just continuing to sharpen the knife as needed. The idea is that the chip will eventually be removed by repeated sharpenings. Personally, I can’t stand having them in the blade, so I remove them.

-Clay

Lukas Pop
    Participant
    • Topics: 10
    • Replies: 109