Advanced Search

WE66 Obsidian vs WE130?

Recent Forums Main Forum WE66 Obsidian vs WE130?

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    SpensiveHabits
    Participant
    • Topics: 2
    • Replies: 5

Hi all,

I purchased a WE130 recently and haven’t taken it out of the box just yet.  I noticed today that there is a new WE66 Obsidian model that was recently released.  Is the WE130 still the go to model for now, or would I be wise to return it, and purchase the WE66?  I expected these to be portable models with concessions, but this WE66 appears to be pretty complete.  I’m moving up from a sharpmaker, so I’m sure I’ll be happy with either, but I’m now on the fence about which system is the best investment.  I’m a typical hobbyist that likes sharp blades, and I don’t expect I would need a portable solution.

Thanks for any advice.

-Kiel

Shophand
    Participant
    • Topics: 1
    • Replies: 6

I love mine for sure. The only limitation is that I am waiting for the 1/4 jaws so i can grab bigger knives.:). I believe the 130 has a lil bigger vise and thats all i think. The WE66 is milled out of a solid block of aluminum pretty solid.

• This reply was modified 1 year, 2 months ago by Shophand.
    • This reply was modified 1 year, 2 months ago by Shophand.
    airscapes
    Participant
    • Topics: 19
    • Replies: 367