Advanced Search

Upswepted Blades (persian)

Recent Forums Main Forum Welcome Mat Upswepted Blades (persian)

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    UpSwepted
    Participant
    • Topics: 2
    • Replies: 1

Hello,

I’m new to the fourm & have a new WE. I have a question about mounting a upswepted blade (spiderco Chinook) or others with the same blade type. I have a thing for the upswept blade.  Anywho when I mount the blad say flat I have trouble getting the blade sharp after it makes the turn down while upside down to sharpen it. what is the best way to mount such a blade. Below I will post a picture of the blades I wish to work on.

Attachments:
    Marc H
    • Topics: 74
    • Replies: 2735

Welcome to the Wicked Forum, UpSwepted.

For a blade of the shape and character of those you’ve pictured, I would attempt to clamp them centered across the jaws, handle rotated down, in a manner that arches the blade evenly over or across the vise. I’d try to clamp the knife as high up in the jaws as I could so it’s clamped by just the jaw tips.

The tendency is for W.E. users is to try to sharpen a knife blade with one continuous sweeping stone stroke from the knife handle end to the knife tip, or from the tip to handle. With knives that are upswept like these it’s hard to do this. By always maintaining contact between the stones and the knife blade with the single continuous sweeping sharpening stroke it can’t be done without reversing the stone direction as you round the blade towards the upswept tip.  I suggest you sharpen these curved blades in two or three sections.  Do your sharpening strokes to smaller portions of the blade and then over lap these portions to make your sharpened edge consistent across the entire blade.