Advanced Search

Stropping Technique

Recent Forums Main Forum Stropping Stropping Technique

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    Bill Davis
    Participant
    • Topics: 1
    • Replies: 0

I’m new to Wicked Edge and have done a few of my lesser knives, very pleased with the initial results.  I’m at a  point where stropping would be the next step.  I understand that you change the angel on the holder.  So I did my knives at the factory angle of 30 degrees.  Does this mean that when i go to the strop is adjust the angle to 27-28 degrees?  Do I use a motion with the strop that goes away from the apex or edge?  Is balsa a better medium than leather?   a there a better choice than balsa or leather.  Thanks.

Marc H
    • Topics: 74
    • Replies: 2735

Welcome to the Wicked Edge Forum.

I recommend you look first to the “Knowledge Base” for your answers.  There’s a tremendous amount of good helpful information available there.  The Knowledge Base button is at the very upper right of this browser page.

Another helpful method that I like to use is a “Google” search including the words “Wicked Edge”.  With a properly worded search this often takes you to very helpful forum posts.

For instance, try searching “stropping with Wicked Edge”.  I just did this.  It took me to a whole page of forum posts including You Tube videos.  You Tube is another valuable reference site to make use of.  There are hundreds of videos there.  Both good ones and not so good ones.

An added advantage of this practice is you’ll broaden your knowledge past the smaller focus of your original guestions as you see and read related topics that will interest you that you’ll come across with your initial search.

Then as your questions become narrower in base and more specific, if you can’t find that answer, we’re still here to help.