Advanced Search

screw / knob coming loose on a constant basis

Recent Forums Main Forum Techniques and Sharpening Strategies Basic Techniques and Sharpening Strategies screw / knob coming loose on a constant basis

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Rick Topp
    Participant
    • Topics: 2
    • Replies: 4

Hi Guys,

I’m new to the WE and have a general question about the equipment. On the right hand side, the screw which holds the angle of the stone keeps coming loose and thus moving. I understand that it may come loose over time but I’m talking about it coming loose after 2-3 strokes. I’m a fairly strong person and can tighten the screw fairly well…short of using a pair of pliers (which I have not tried), I’m at a loss why this one side keeps coming loose.

The left hand side does not come loose at all during the entire knife sharpening process.

Any suggestions would be welcome 🙂

Cheers,
    Rick

cbwx34
    Participant
    • Topics: 57
    • Replies: 1505

You might take a look at this thread… there was some suggestions in it for dealing with this.

Rick Topp
    Participant
    • Replies: 4

Ok, I looked at my screw ends and they are both rounded per the thread. I was hoping that I wouldn’t have to use loctite / teflon tape or do something else on a system like this when spending this kind of $ on it.

I absolutely love the results I am getting on knives but this screw repeatedly coming loose is a huge pain. Is there anything else that can be done to rectify this on a more permanent basis instead of having to do something with each knife set-up? I’m sharpening a lot of knives everyday so this becomes rather cumbersome.

Any help / fixes would be awesome…thanks 🙂

Cheers,
    Rick

cbwx34
    Participant
    • Topics: 57
    • Replies: 1505