Advanced Search

Scary sharp

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Tomas
    Participant
    • Topics: 9
    • Replies: 11

Hi there,

Last night I sharpened my Gayle Bradley Spyderco folder. It is a fabulous custom collaboration in CPM-M4 steel. M4 is not stainless but a very tough steel.
    After setting up the knife in the WE, I walked through all the stones, from 100 all the way up to .6 MFC.
    Between each stone I blackened the edge again with the felttipmarker to be sure I hit every part of the edge with the following stone. I decided to give the blade a 32 degrees inclusive edge (16 per side)
    When I was done there was no need for stropping anymore. That knife is DANGEROUSLY sharp now.
    I have been sharpening my knives myself for almost 20 years with the Spyderco sharpmaker and I am not considering myself an expert, but I have never made a knife this sharp.
    Next step will be to purchase a stropblockset or two to finish the job (mirrorlook B) ). I am totally convinced now that purchasing that WE was a good choice!

:silly:

DARRELL ALLEN
    Participant
    • Topics: 15
    • Replies: 113

I couldn’t agree more…………….LOVE, LOVE, my WEPS PP2……..:woohoo:

Jack Montrose
    Participant
    • Topics: 4
    • Replies: 67

Yep, you caught the bug…. :side:

Eamon Mc Gowan
    Participant
    • Topics: 17
    • Replies: 513

Hi there,

When I was done there was no need for stropping anymore. That knife is DANGEROUSLY sharp now.
    I have been sharpening my knives myself for almost 20 years with the Spyderco sharpmaker and I am not considering myself an expert, but I have never made a knife this sharp.
    Next step will be to purchase a stropblockset or two to finish the job (mirrorlook B) ). I am totally convinced now that purchasing that WE was a good choice!

:silly:

I know that moment when the grin goes from ear to ear! :woohoo: