Advanced Search

Requesting Input on Upcoming Forum Changes

Recent Forums Main Forum Welcome Mat Requesting Input on Upcoming Forum Changes

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 30 total)
  • Author
    developer (ChrisB)
    Keymaster
    • Topics: 52
    • Replies: 263

Hi all, I’ve been doing some work for Clay & team, on the website and forum, and wanted to introduce myself.

I’m a tech consultant helping Clay evaluate the best way to migrate the forum away from its current technology (Joomla / Kunena) and into a new one (WordPress / BBPress).

Before getting into why make the move, I wanted to let you know that our overriding goal is to make the move in a way that minimizes the impact on forum users, and that sets the stage for a better technology platform for the future.

And just to be clear, all of the current and past forum topics, posts, replies, etc. will be there in the new forum, and it’ll look very similar to the new forum.

As we go through the planning process for the move, I wanted to let you know that I’d really appreciate your input, both general and specific. I wish I could promise that you won’t notice any difference once we make the move, but of course that’s just not the case. Things will be a bit different, although we’re working to make it as similar as possible to the current forum. For example, I don’t think we’ll be able to exactly replicate the Karma system, but we’ll try to replace it with something very similar.

As much as possible, we’ll retain the great aspects of your user profiles that you’ve built up and earned by participating in the forums. We won’t make everyone restart at the level of Fresh Boarder, for example. And your profiles will definitely reflect your numbers of Posts, carried over from the current forum.

That’s probably enough detail for now, to acknowledge that things won’t look exactly the same, but also assure you that we’ll get it as close as we can in appearance and usability.