Advanced Search

Newb needs tips for sharpening stainless steel

Recent Forums Main Forum Techniques and Sharpening Strategies Tips for Specific Knife Grinds and Styles Newb needs tips for sharpening stainless steel

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Wicked Edge Sharp Knives
    Participant
    • Topics: 7
    • Replies: 22

Hi, I am a wicked edge newbie. Had the system three days. I have sharpened five knives with it. I have had good results with carbon steel. Stainless steel (Swiss army knife and cheap steak knife) – not so much…. Sharpening helped a lot but I can’t get close to the edge of the carbon knives. It seems very hard to sharpen the stainless steel and it takes lots of strokes to make much difference. The cheap steak knife seems almost impenetrable near the back of the knife.

Any suggestions for stainless Swiss army and stainless cheap steak knife?

I will be grateful for any tip.

Thanks!

Edwin Lurvey
    Participant
    • Topics: 5
    • Replies: 80

Is it because the back of the steak knife gets much more thick towards the handle?

Wicked Edge Sharp Knives
    Participant

Thanks edhead35. The Swiss Army knife was a fine tomato and vegetable cutter and it was my very first knife on the Wicked Edge. I believe you are correct about the cheap steak knife – the back edge is thicker and must be highly tempered. That steak knife is at least 45 years old and could be as much as 60 years old. Is stainless just much harder in general?

tcmeyer
    Participant
    • Topics: 38
    • Replies: 2095