Advanced Search

New to WE and need a little guidance on Chicago Cutlery Steak Knives and set up

Recent Forums Main Forum New to WE and need a little guidance on Chicago Cutlery Steak Knives and set up

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Bill
    Participant
    • Topics: 1
    • Replies: 2

New to the group and new to the WE sharpening system.  I am a newbie for sure.  Apologize in advance if I stumble on terminology or leave out details Tons of great info and helpful folks here.  I spent a few weeks researching sharpening systems and decided to bite the bullet and go WE Pro Pack III.  Just received it yesterday.  The knives I have to sharpen are mainly a variety of Kitchen knives (Chicago Cutlery, Wusthof and most recently Miyabi Black) and some foldables such as Benchmade Mini Grip and Infidel.  I do ok with table top stones, diamond and whetstones.  Havent tried the Miyabi yet as those were the drivers behind upgrading to this system.

I have done a bit of reading and video watching on the system, tips, and techniques.  As recommended i am starting out learning and breaking in on the Chicago Cutlery.  I think the whole set was 100 bucks at walmart.

I think I need a little guidance though.  I feel like I must be doing something wrong.  Using the sharpie method to find the existing angles I was surprised to find that the angle on the steak knives were ~13.5 deg (using digital angle device).  This almost needed to be achieved with the LAA due to low height of the knife.  Like I said, surprised that these knives would be at such a low angle and require the LAA.  I expect that out of my Wusthof Santoku or my Miyabi but not a cheap US steak knife.