Advanced Search

New from the UK

Recent Forums Main Forum Welcome Mat New from the UK

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Codswallop
    Participant
    • Topics: 1
    • Replies: 1

Hello

Bought a WE Gen 3 last month after spending way too much time doing online ‘research’. I was a chef decades ago so have a number of knives that were pretty good once and will (hopefully) be back to their former glory soon. I am definitely still at the learning stage – my previous experience of knife sharpening involved steels and the occasional stone, neither of which were particularly satisfactory.

Having lurked around this Forum for a bit, the collective wisdom seems to be that you need to get hold of 5-10 cheap knives for practice and to break in the stones. My first practice knife was a crappy 7″ chef’s knife which has proved challenging due to the curve of the blade and the flimsiness of the material. Do you have any suggestions for practice knives? Should I start with a small straight blade or does that become too fiddly for newbies?

Looking forward to learning from you.

Organic
    Participant
    • Topics: 17
    • Replies: 929

You don’t have to get 10 individual knives. You can sharpen a beater a few times in a row and you don’t have to worry about how much steel you’re removing. This can actually be informative as well since it will give you the chance to try a few different angles on the same blade and see how that affects the edge.

Thrift shops and craigslist are good places to find knives at a bargain.

2 users thanked author for this post.
    Marc H
    • Topics: 74
    • Replies: 2735

On the other side, different sized and different shaped or styled knives will help you to learn a variety of skills as you undertake different challenges presented while attempting to sharpen these different knives as you learn your technique.  It’ll certainly make you a more rounded and more experienced sharpener with a broader skill set.

Marc