Advanced Search

New from Kentucky

Recent Forums Main Forum Welcome Mat New from Kentucky

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Kentucky Rob
    Participant
    • Topics: 1
    • Replies: 2

Hi folks!

I’m new around here. New to these forums, and new to the Wicked Edge. Oh, and I’m not an expert knife guy, not by a long shot.

I’ve been in search of an effective and relatively quick method of sharpening knives for a very long time. For most of my 44 years, I relied on the old stand by whet stone method learned from my father. I could get a knife to cut again, but it didn’t look pretty and was just barley serviceable.

Ive tried numerous types of those “pull-through” notch sharpeners, and even got a Work Sharp last year for Christmas, and I always ended up back working my old stand by stone.

Over the last year or so, I’ve started a small collection of upscale production pocket folders and a few fixed blades. Not sure why, other than I appreciated their craftsmanship…and I always have a need for a good knife. Trouble is, I’ve been scared to death to try and sharpen any of them, because I knew how they would turn out.

Finally took the plunge and bought a WE Pro Pack I a few weeks ago, and have since added a few more sets of finishing stones. Also waiting on some lapping film.

Needless to say, I’m beyond thrilled with the WE, despite having some initial issues with screws…which by the way, the Wicked Edge Team and even Mr. Allison himself really went the extra mile with service to make sure I had a properly working kit. The attached photo is my first true mirror edge! It’s truly hair popping sharp! I think my old whet stone will finally get retired.

Attachments:
    5 users thanked author for this post.
    Marc H
    • Topics: 74
    • Replies: 2735

Welcome to the Wicked Edge Forum and Knife Sharpening Community, Rob!

Marc
    (MarcH's Rack-Its)

2 users thanked author for this post.
    Organic
    Participant
    • Topics: 17