Advanced Search

Help w/ Primary ‘n Secondary Bevel Sharpening

Recent Forums Main Forum Techniques and Sharpening Strategies Basic Techniques and Sharpening Strategies Help w/ Primary ‘n Secondary Bevel Sharpening

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author
    Ryan
    Participant
    • Topics: 13
    • Replies: 21

Okay, I’m fairly new to this whole sharpening concept and fairly new to the WEP. I have a knife that has been recommended by several to sharpen the primary bevel at 17 degrees then put a secondary bevel at 20. I have no idea how to do this without potentially messing things up. Any guidance how to do this on the WEPs is greatly appreciate.

Ryan

Josh
    Participant
    • Topics: 89
    • Replies: 1672

Simply sharpen at 17dps fully, then put a micro bevel on at 20dps with very light passes!

Ryan
    Participant

Simply sharpen at 17dps fully, then put a micro bevel on at 20dps with very light passes!

That’s it? Wow, okay thanks Josh. I’m assuming then the micro bevel is created with light passes from higher grit stones? Perhaps at 600 or 800 and then up? Am I tracking correctly?

Mikedoh
    • Topics: 38
    • Replies: 570

For the micro bevel, you can finish with the highest grit stone you used for your 17 degree bevel, or you can try a higher grit stone. Not many passes are needed to put on a micro bevel, just a few. No progression is needed. A micro bevel is not really decrenable to the eye. Not that you couldn’t put a different bevel on, using a progression, or what ever you wanted to do. But I don’t believe that is considered “micro”.

I’d suggest just trying a few light strokes at 1k grit (or higher) and see how you like it. If you don’t, you can always go coarser, or experiment more .

Ryan
    Participant

Thanks for the very descriptive explanation! This seriously helps. Now I’m going to give it a try.

Ryan

Mikedoh
    • Topics: 38
    • Replies: 570

Let us know your thoughts on your final edge or edges.

Mark76