Advanced Search

Hair whittling… Technique or Tools?

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Richard Jackson
    Participant
    • Topics: 2
    • Replies: 19

So as some of you know from my last thread, I am very new to the Wicked Edge compared to most of you. I have seen and heard of the illusive hair whittling edge and wondered what it takes to get there. I don’t mean the type of hair whittling on a super toothy edge. I mean whittling hairs with a super refined edge. I was wondering if this is accomplished more with tools (broken in stones, chosera x stone, shapton x stone, WE microfine ceramics, etc) or is it able to be accomplished with the 800/1000 with some other technique. As of now I use the PP1 with upgraded arms 100-1000 diamonds, 1200/1600 ceramics, WE leather strops with 5/3.5/1/0.5 WE pastes. I have gotten great whisper quiet push cuts in various papers(catalog, printer paper, phone book, etc). I just haven’t been able to get to hair whittling yet. Thank you very much!

Take care and God Bless!
    Richard

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Leo James Mitchell
    Participant
    • Topics: 64
    • Replies: 687

I think it is a combination of all those things you mention i.e.good tools with well broken-in diamonds, ceramics and good techniques. Choseras would no doubt increase your chances of a hair whittle. I am not certain because I have never felt the need to whittle hair…just wood, paper, fuzz sticks and the like. I must give it a crack some day, but usually I am satisfied that my knives are super sharp and zip through their tasks like lasers. 😉

All the best mate
    Leo

wickededge
    Keymaster
    • Topics: 123
    • Replies: 2938

Richard,