Advanced Search

Flattening a Shapton stone on silicium carbide?

Recent Forums Main Forum Techniques and Sharpening Strategies Abrasives Flattening a Shapton stone on silicium carbide?

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Mark76
    Participant
    • Topics: 179
    • Replies: 2760

On another forum I got the question whether a Shapton stone can be flattened on a silicium carbide stone.

I don’t know, but maybe somebody here has experience. (I think a silicium carbide is a ceramic stone.)

My initial thought was that it can probably be done, although it may not be ideal. Silicium carbide is probably hard enough, but I don’t know whether pieces of the ceramic would pollute the Shapton, although I’ve never seen anything come off the WEPS ceramic stones after they are worn in. But, as I said, I have no experience in doing this.

Molecule Polishing: my blog about sharpening with the Wicked Edge

Mark76
    Participant

Update. Apparently we’re not talking a silicium carbide stone, but silicium carbide grains or granules. I’d never heard of the stuff. Here it’s sold:

http://www.knivesandtools.nl/nl/pt/-edge-pro-stone-leveling-kit.htm

It’s marketed as a leveling kit for the Edge Pro. (Don’t ask me why.) Does anyone have experience with it?

Mr.Wizard
    Participant
    • Topics: 6
    • Replies: 190

That is normally called silicon carbide (SiC) and it is an extremely common abrasive. It’s the stuff most commonly on black wet-dry sandpaper for example. You can easily get it loose in smaller quantities at a lapidary shop. As an Edge Pro user I have followed Ben Dale’s instruction and used it for flattening stones. It has some interesting properties in this application.

• While Ben Dale recommends adding a bit of water I had no success with this; I probably used too much or too little but it just made a gooey mess so I tried it without and found that it worked just fine. I make sure the stone is dry too.