Advanced Search

Confused by 3 micron diamond stones

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 21 total)
  • Author
    Blaine Gribble
    Participant
    • Topics: 3
    • Replies: 8

Hi everyone,

I’m still very new to sharpening in general, I purchased the 3 micron diamond stone set thinking it would be the place to go after 1200/1600 ceramics, I used this grit table as my logic for that decision: http://www.gessweincanada.com/category-s/11328.htm

Unfortunately i’m missing something fairly obvious because the 3 micron stone scratches the crap out of the blade when used after the 1200/1600 ceramics. At what point am I supposed to be using it, and why does something that is ~8000 grit causing so much damage? Thanks!

Mark76
    Participant
    • Topics: 179
    • Replies: 2760

I haven’t used these stones yet, so I cannot comment from experience.

Are you sure your stones are worn in? How many times have you used them?

A general tip: try to use light pressure, particularly with newer stones. And diamond stones will often give a somewhat coarser scratch pattern, compared to waterstones and ceramic stones, because of the way they work.

Molecule Polishing: my blog about sharpening with the Wicked Edge

blacksheep25
    Participant
    • Topics: 2
    • Replies: 68

I bought a pair of these to try out. Agreed they’ll need to be broken in. And they appear coarser than the 1200/1600 ceramics. My one and only knife sharpened on the 3 micron is a spyderco delica; it was a touch up, 3 micron only then stropped. The only odd thing I noticed were the scratch marks on the face of the 3 microns, looks like they are from the knife.

About a dozen pics in my photobucket album (sharpening). Here is just one of those pics:

Mark76
    Participant

The only odd thing I noticed were the scratch marks on the face of the 3 microns, looks like they are from the knife.

About a dozen pics in my photobucket album (sharpening). Here is just one of those pics: