Advanced Search

Aluminum platens for lapping???

Recent Forums Main Forum Aluminum platens for lapping???

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    James
    Participant
    • Topics: 2
    • Replies: 7

So, on the website it says to use the glass platens for lapping. Why is it bad to use the Aluminum ones? I’m too new to the lapping and stropping of knives to fully understand alot of what some co sider common sense. I’m self taught at most of this. Any help is awesome and appreciated.

Marc H
    • Topics: 74
    • Replies: 2735

James, Some WE users have used the blank aluminum platens as a lapping plate.  It is probably better to lap the aluminum (i.e., sand the surface smooth and level) with sand paper before using it as a lapping plate.  Aluminum’s soft nature makes it easy to dent or ding.  Lapping the aluminum assures it is smooth and level.

The glass lapping plates are already very smooth and level.  The glass lapping plates do sometimes have sharp edges, from being cut to size.  I sand the glass edges smooth with emery cloth before using them with lapping film to prevent the sharp glass edge from scratching the knife steel.

In my experience the pressure sensitive adhesive, (PSA), diamond lapping films stick better and more securely to the glass platens than to the aluminum platens.  If the film becomes gouged with use, (which does sometimes happen) the harder glass won’t cut or gouge while the softer aluminum scratches or becomes gouged.

So it isn’t bad to use the aluminum plates with lapping film…I just think it’s better to use the glass plates.

Marc
    (MarcH's Rack-Its)

2 users thanked author for this post.
    James
    Participant
    • Topics: 2
    • Replies: 7