Advanced Search

Add a comma before an "and" in an enumeration?

Recent Forums Main Forum Off Topic Add a comma before an "and" in an enumeration?

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Mark76
    Participant
    • Topics: 179
    • Replies: 2760

As some of you may know, I’m Dutch and English is my second language. (I’ve lived in Australia and I regularly visit the UK, Canada and the USA for my work. In addition, I’ve written a book and quite a few articles in English)

I’ve asked a similar question before here: when to add a comma in a sentence. It appeared that in English commas are used more often than in Dutch (thanks, guys!)

But now I have a more specific question: do you add a comma before the (last) “and” in an enumeration? So, for example, do you write “apples, pears, and peaches” or “apples, pears and peaches”.

One reason I ask this has a humorous aspect to it: my two professors when I graduated disagreed quite strongly on this. In fact, there appears to be a name for the comma before the “and” (the Oxford comma), but according to one professor, it was hardly used. Was he right? Is a comma normally used before the last “and” or not?

Molecule Polishing: my blog about sharpening with the Wicked Edge

Mikedoh
    • Topics: 38
    • Replies: 570

I was taught ” apples, pears, and peaches”. Granted, it was over 40 years ago. I suspect it is somewhat regional. I believe both are correct, and that the Oxford comma is despised by some (maybe many).

My sister used to teach English, and if I remember, I’ll ask.

ps I had a grueling 12+ hour shift last night, and am on again tonight, so may reply sometime tomorrow evening EST.

Bill Kirkley
    Participant
    • Topics: 19
    • Replies: 97

I googled your question and this link came up.

Comma Before And

2 users thanked author for this post.
    Mark76
    Participant