Advanced Search

A Few Questions

Recent Forums Main Forum A Few Questions

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author
    leupold1
    Participant
    • Topics: 3
    • Replies: 3

I’ve been using the WE sharpening system for about three years now and am satisfied, overall, with the results I’m getting.  I find the sharpening process to be enjoyable in and of itself.  My knowledge about knives and sharpening, while somewhat above the average person, falls very short of the expertise I witness here on the forum.  As a result, I’m coming with some questions I have regarding sharpening and knives.

1. Currently, my deer hunting knife is a Buck Paklite skinner sharpened at 23 degrees verified using the angle cube.  I originally employed a 20 degree angle but was disappointed with the longevity of the sharpness.  In using the stones, I usually progress through the 1600 ceramics and can easily shave hairs, but I’m not satisfied with how long the blade seems to stay sharp when skinning deer.  I can usually process one, but on occasions when two deer are done, the blade seems really dull by the time I’m working on the second.  So, is there a more optimal angle that I could apply to the blade that would seemingly last longer, or is the problem with my sharpening process?  I like the Buck, but is there another knife I should consider that would do the work better and longer?  I am really not interested in buying a knife that costs much more that $100 unless the benefits are so obvious that I can’t afford not to buy it.
    2. I use Victorinox-Forschner knives for processing the meat and really can’t complain too much about the knives, especially when considering the cost for them runs in the $20 range.  Considering these knives, what angle should I put on them to optimize performance?  Is taking them to 1600 on the ceramics beneficial, or should I stop at some other point for best results?