Advanced Search

3D printed Custom handles

Recent Forums Main Forum Pass Around and Buy / Sell / Trade Want to Sell 3D printed Custom handles

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Micheal Fuller
    Participant
    • Topics: 2
    • Replies: 4

Hello everyone I’m new to the community but I’ve been using the sharpeners for almost 2 years. I have 10 years of experience in 3D printing and 3D modeling and I’ve finally gotten around to making my own custom handles for the stones I want to try out with my gen 3 pro sharpener.

my plan is to sell kits.

my MK1 stones are going to be using bushing to match the current rods but I’m also going to be making an “upgrade” kit that will swap out the rods with different one and the stone will be using liner motion bearings like a 3D printer for super smooth and tight tolerance sharpening.

Attachments:
    Marc H
    • Topics: 74
    • Replies: 2735

Welcome to the forum!

Marc
    (MarcH's Rack-Its)

Micheal Fuller
    Participant

thanks for letting me know there is a forum!

Micheal Fuller
    Participant

here is some renders to help understand the idea

nothing 3d printed will be touching the rod to make sure it stays smooth

Attachments:
    AllanK
    Participant
    • Topics: 0
    • Replies: 1

I’ll be interested to see where this goes! And, welcome to the forum.

Micheal Fuller
    Participant

a Lot of the parts im waiting on come in this weekend so ill start spamming post updates of the progress next weekish

1 user thanked author for this post.
    tcmeyer
    Participant
    • Topics: 38
    • Replies: 2095

Sorry I’m late on this one, but here’s one tidbit I have to share:

If the long bore diameter is larger than the rod diameter, you’ll want rods which are extra long.  If you slide the handle high enough to have the rod drop out of the upper bushing, you’ll see some angular error and if the bushing are a tight fit, you’ll see some binding between the rod and lower bushing.