Advanced Search

Angle Recommendations for Wusthofs

Recent Forums Main Forum Techniques and Sharpening Strategies Task Specific Knife Sharpening Cooking Angle Recommendations for Wusthofs

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 47 total)
  • Author
    Marc H
    • Topics: 74
    • Replies: 2735

Hi I’m a newbie to this forum. I just purchased a Wicked Edge System (Pro-Pac II) so I’m a newbie to WE too. Been wanting the WE for years. Up to now I’ve used a Norton Tri-Stone, a Sharpmaker, various Flat Stones (oil and water, both), and Steels. So my knives have seen the gambit. Now I’m trying to reprofile my edges. In the kitchen I use mostly Wusthofs, inexpensive and fairly decent because that’s what I have now. I figured I’ll spend the money on a excellent sharpener and sharpen what I have, instead of buying new knifes.

I used the Wicked Edge, (first knife/first try) on a Wusthof Santuko 7″ Hollow Ground reprofiling it to 16 degrees per side. I feel the knife is very sharp for my first try. It cuts food very well now but my knife sticks to the cutting board slowing my knife skills down to a snail’s crawl. The blade just won’t rock or slide on the cutting board any longer. Any suggestions or insights? Is it the blade, the angle, the cutting board or me? I’m using some sort of plastic and corian boards.

I can’t find any Reference Source for Factory Spec Blade Angles for Wusthofs. I emailed Wusthof Customer Service and got no reply. I have 8 Wusthof knives needing reprofiling. (Santuko (2), 6″ & 8″ Cook, 3″ Paring, 4-1/2″ Utility, 2 Dreizacks 16cm & 20cm) Any suggestions on what angles to use is apprecicated.

Marc
    (MarcH's Rack-Its)

wickededge
    Keymaster
    • Topics: 123
    • Replies: 2938