Advanced Search

ZT 0180 out of the box…onto the Wicked Edge

Recent Forums Main Forum Knife Photos ZT 0180 out of the box…onto the Wicked Edge

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 23 total)
  • Author
    Zamfir
    Participant
    • Topics: 17
    • Replies: 346

So the release of the zero tolerance 0180 Rick Hinderer fixed blade in Vanadis 4 EXTRA happened in time for my hunting trip next week. I had my eye on this knife for a long time. This will be my first ZT knife and my first Fixed blade not in the kitchen.

The grip fits my hands great! Just the right amount of texture on the G-10 handles and a solid beefy blade.

Cool sheath with velcro adjustable snaps and such. I have no experience with this steel but the blade edge is strange right out of the box. kinda push cuts copy paper in some spots. One side looks different than the other. It looks like it was belt sharpened and then a micro very light strop or such? The weird thing is it will whittle hairs in some specific spots but not all over and not on the tip. So how can it split a hair in some areas but be kinda crappy at push cutting paper?

I just got done confirming the ground angle. 22 deg? That seems really wide for such a supposedly very tough steel. Not too sure what I want to do as far as sharpening this. I would like it to be consistent across the entire blade. This looks like a knife I should be able to give to my son when I am too old to hunt! (he is only 2 right now lol)

So the blade grind is interesting in its sharpness testing I have done. Here are some pictures.

Zamfir
    Participant

So, What to do for an edge?

The sharpie results at 22 deg have me confused. Do I need to tilt it rather than use the depth keys? If so, how do I repeat exactly where and how it was mounted?