Advanced Search

Tip support?

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    Allgonquin
    Participant
    • Topics: 8
    • Replies: 51

I’m still a rookie, so bear with me. I have been doing several relatively long kitchen knives, in my case Henkels, so far with blade length up to 8.25″ But I have a 10.25″ slicer lurking still which I have not tackled. I find that even with the tip support I have a lot of flex on the tip of the blade as the stone passes by.

I also did a short, very flexible paring knife, 3.25″ blade which had this problem.

I have been using my other hand to brace the tip, mainly my fingertips and then a scrubbing technique in the last inch or so of the tips, and it works, but it would be nice to have it firmly clamped or supported. I have in mind making a tip support to go further out, drilling another hole in the WEPS base. Was wondering if anyone had done this.

Also had visualized an insert to be placed in the clamp with long edges supporting the entire bottom edge of the blade on both sides, perhaps available in several different lengths and widths. This would obviously have to be quite thin and strong so as not to interfere with the stones passing by. It’s problematic because knives have so many different thicknesses, however.

Anyway, just some thoughts from a new user. I’ve still been able to get good edges out to the tip, but it requires some extra effort. And none of this applies with typical folders or fixed hunters, as they are much stiffer.

Editing to say this belongs in the techniques forum rather than the welcome mat! Sorry – maybe the mods can move it.

Leo James Mitchell
    Participant
    • Topics: 64
    • Replies: 687

No sooner said than done!:lol:

Cheers
    Leo

wickededge
    Keymaster
    • Topics: 123
    • Replies: 2938