Advanced Search

Some new blades I got.

Recent Forums Main Forum Knife Photos Some new blades I got.

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    Alex
    Participant
    • Topics: 2
    • Replies: 3

Hello everyone.First time posting here. (moderator) If this isn’t the correct forum for this post feel free to move it.

I’m new to the WE system, and also new to collecting some knives. I got the system about 3 weeks ago and so far I have nothing to be upset about other than the whole in my wallet and some minor cuts on my fingers.

Prior to getting the WE, I watched hours of videos and as much as the system it is quite easy to use it sure does have a learning curve when it comes to position the knife and properly going through the grits. I’m finding the learning part of it to be somehow relaxing up to now.

There are a few things I’d like to ask though. I got the WE130 plus 800/1000 1500/2200 and 3000/glass with the 6m film and then the 2/4m leather with diamond paste. I was contemplating the ceramic set but I’m not sure if I really need that and if I do where in the progression it could be useful, or just get some more lapping films finer the the 6m.

So far I’m content with the finish I’m getting as the bevels are nice and shiny but not mirror ( at least on the USB scope it isn’t ) Although I might not aim to polish every knife to a mirror finish, I’d like to know that I can if I feel like doing that. I find it more complicated to get the same finish at the heel of the blade (closest to the handle) than the rest.