Advanced Search

New guy on the block

Recent Forums Main Forum Welcome Mat New guy on the block

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Roper
    Participant
    • Topics: 3
    • Replies: 3

I’m just starting out with my WE sharpener, but it shows me one thing if nothing else, factory grinds on most knives suck. It’s no wonder most don’t stay sharp very long…oh well.

I look forward to learning from this group and practicing on old knives first.

Roper

3 users thanked author for this post.
    tcmeyer
    Participant
    • Topics: 38
    • Replies: 2095

Welcome aboard Roper.  While it’s certainly true that factory edges don’t last as long, you’ll find that even the least amount of edge wear will be intolerable when you’ve got the tool to correct it right at had.  I’m sure I sharpen my personal knives three times as often as I would have before I got my WEPS.

1 user thanked author for this post.
    Mark76
    Participant
    • Topics: 179
    • Replies: 2760

Welcome to the forum, Roper! You’re right on many factory edges. Luckily you have a tool now to restore that problem . Please don’t hesitate to ask if you have any questions.

Molecule Polishing: my blog about sharpening with the Wicked Edge

dulledge
    Participant
    • Topics: 12
    • Replies: 183

factory grinds on most knives suck. It’s no wonder most don’t stay sharp very long…

My experience is the opposite. Brand new knives lasted sharp much longer. I don’t have many though. Just set of kitchen knives ZWILLING J.A. Henckels Professional “S”, Spyderco folder, Buck Classic Hunter folder, kitchen Zyliss knives. It could be because of lack of my sharpening skills. I wish someone will create database of factory edge profiles, so I could try to imitate factory profiles.

cbwx34
    Participant
    • Topics: 57
    • Replies: 1505

factory grinds on most knives suck. It’s no wonder most don’t stay sharp very long…