Advanced Search

Micro fine ceramic stone issues

Recent Forums Main Forum Sharpener and Accessory Maintenance Ceramic Stones Micro fine ceramic stone issues

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 20 total)
  • Author
    David
    Participant
    • Topics: 1
    • Replies: 1

I’ve been using my wicked edge for at least 2 years, and really like the edge I’m able to get on knives. Recently I received the Micro Fine Ceramic Stones pack as a gift, and I’m not really liking the results. When I move from the 1200 to 1600 super fine ceramic stones to the micro fine ceramic stones it is like I’m scratching up what I’ve already done. They seem more coarse. I have lapped the micro fine stones and it hasn’t seemed to help.

Any suggestions?

DARRELL ALLEN
    Participant
    • Topics: 15
    • Replies: 113

🙁 sorry to hear the trouble your having David. I bought the Super Fine ceramics as a go between from the 1000 diamonds to the Micro Fine ceramics, and I use them in that progression and have not lapped mine ( other than against themselves ) but I’ve had no issues with them…….except that on the Micro Fines once, the stones came loose from the paddles and fell off…………..which I then used medium thick CA glue to re-adhere them which worked out great.

Here are a few pics of one I recently finished ( a re-sharpen or touch up if you will ) starting at the 600 grit diamonds going through both sets of the ceramics, then finally the balsa and leather strops. It came out with a REALLY nice mirrored edge, and very sharp.

cbwx34
    Participant
    • Topics: 57
    • Replies: 1505