Advanced Search

Have you see this before

Recent Forums Main Forum Off Topic Have you see this before

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Joel Casto
    Participant
    • Topics: 5
    • Replies: 12

Not sure if this post is in the correct category.

Pictures below are my 3 Micron diamond stone set I got two weeks ago. After sharpening a few knives I noticed the diamond abrasive started wearing off, down to the base metal. It’s most noticeable on the extreme end of one stone, but it’s also in the center of both stones. It seems improbable to me that the diamond abrasive is wearing at all, but especially so after a few knives and only a couple weeks. I started to notice metal-to-metal contact when I use the stones and so stopped using them.

I sent pictures to WE tech support earlier this afternoon and should hear something next week. I’m new to the WE system and thought I’d ask for thoughts from some of the more experienced folks on the forum.

My first thought was “Hey, chucklehead, you’re doing something wrong”. But all my other stones, diamond, ceramic, lapping film and strops are just fine. Any ideas?

Attachments:
    tcmeyer
    Participant
    • Topics: 38
    • Replies: 2095

I’ve worn through one of my diamond stones by over-working it on a ceramic knife near the end of three years, but my wear pattern is quite different. On mine, the diamonds are worn off along the edges of the middle two thirds of the platen.

Which leads me to believe that maybe you’ve just got a bad pair. Something went wrong during the plating process. No worry, WE will make it right post haste. I just hope they don’t have a big batch of these out there.

I can’t even imagine why you’d see that wear at the end of the platen, as normal use doesn’t touch the ends. Did you maybe use it to lap another stone?

An ugly thought just entered my head… Don’t EVER rub the faces of two diamond stones together! Guaranteed damage!

Joel Casto
    Participant