Advanced Search

Gardening Shears?

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Jonny
    Participant
    • Topics: 12
    • Replies: 40

Searched but didn’t find anything. Anyone sharpened shears w/the WEPS? The thought of doing my 10″ers to a razor edge makes me and by bushes happy 🙂 Pics of ultra sharp shears would be great!

I’m a Noob, so please inform if gardening shears are not applicable to this system, as I don’t see any info on them… or any probs w/that.

Thanks.

wickededge
    Keymaster
    • Topics: 123
    • Replies: 2938

Searched but didn’t find anything. Anyone sharpened shears w/the WEPS? The thought of doing my 10″ers to a razor edge makes me and by bushes happy 🙂 Pics of ultra sharp shears would be great!

I’m a Noob, so please inform if gardening shears are not applicable to this system, as I don’t see any info on them… or any probs w/that.

Thanks.

JDS, do you have a picture of your shears that you can post?

-Clay

Jonny
    Participant

Just regular Home Depot shears, I have a few different brands, all about 10″. I’ll get pics up later after work. Thanks for the quick reply!

cbwx34
    Participant
    • Topics: 57
    • Replies: 1505

Thanks.

I haven’t sharpened any on the WE, but you don’t want to sharpen scissors or shears to a high polish,,, they’ll actually cut worse. Scissors use the edge to grip the material being cut. Between a 320-600g finish works great.

cbw

Jonny
    Participant

That’s what I figured. Although brand new to this, I’ve been reading non-stop and kind of thought a “toothier” (hope I have terminology right) edge might be better for this type of blade and not a super polished edge.

Kind of hoping someone had done it so I could learn the “formula” and see the results. I’ll still get some pics of the blade because I’m still hoping I can get a gameplan, especially what grit to start with seeing as they are kinda’ rough.