Advanced Search

First posting here

Recent Forums Main Forum Welcome Mat First posting here

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    Colin Povey
    Participant
    • Topics: 3
    • Replies: 1

Greetings.

Just got a WE for my birthday. I had been using an Edge Pro Apex, which is OK, and has a few advantages over a WE (an EdgePro can sharpen ANY length knife), but the WE is faster, easier, and more accurate for 98% of them.

I have been sharpening knives for many, many years, from my camping days as an Eagle scout, to my work in kitchens, to glassblowers knives (which are sharpened at 90 degrees-they are rectangular pieces of Tungsten Carbide).

I mounted my WE on a round block of wood, 15″ in diameter-think bar stool top, that I coated with several coats of polyurethane, then put some slip-resistant pads on the bottom. The block of wood is made up from several pieces of wood, so is unlikely to warp. So far, so good, and it was inexpensive (about $15 form Home Depot, mail order only, not carried in stores). I have not yet done it, but am plamning on putting an eye-hook into one edge, so that I can hang the board/vise up, out of the way.

I am a pro cook, and after sharpening my first knives to 1600, I find they are too smooth, too polished for most applications. Just like bread knives are serrated for a reason, i think that 1600 is too smooth for most chef knife use.

Does anyone have any recommendations as to a good starting (err, I mean stopping?) point for 8-10″ chef knives? I will continue to 1600 for some of my knives, like paring knives, but feel that I need to stop earlier for chef knives, filet knives, etc. I have the following stones: 100, 200, 400, 600, 800, 1000, 1200, 1600. I am thinking that 600 or 800 might be best, but was hoping someone has already done a lot of tinkering on this! I am using 20 degrees as my sharpening angle.

Thanks in advance.

Colin

Zamfir
    Participant
    • Topics: 17
    • Replies: 346