Advanced Search

Finally

Recent Forums Main Forum Welcome Mat Finally

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    AK Jim
    Participant
    • Topics: 14
    • Replies: 15

Just needed to throw this out there to make sure I’m not missing something, Bare with me Yoda’s I’m a newbie to sharpening. I think the light bulb finnaly turned on. You don’t have to work so hard to create a burr (over sharpen) be patient as it happens fast and you will keep recreating that burr and cause headaches of uneveven bevels correct? Like stay even on the strokes per side until it feels semi sharp then create the burr and the rest is just polish!

tcmeyer
    Participant
    • Topics: 38
    • Replies: 2095

Using a burr to detect if you’re at the apex is all well and good, but if it’s your only tool, you must remember to produce the burr along the entire edge. If you use alternating strokes, detecting a burr might be difficult, so I suggest stoning one side at a time. And burrs won’t tell you if there are microscopic defects along the edge, which is why most of us use loupes or microscopes.

I suggest using a loupe or microscope to identify defects at the beginning and then stay with your lowest apex grit (I usually use 400’s) until they’re all eliminated. After that, you can proceed confidently.

Avoiding uneven bevels is really just a matter of using roughly an equal number of strokes on both sides, especially for the coarser grits. I find that most knives that come to me already have uneven bevels. A customer with a high-end knife and high-end expectations will expect you to equalize the bevels, If I’m sharpening a knife which is part of a guy’s collection, I assume that equal bevels is part of the job, but for most customers’ working knives, it’s not a real concern. . That’s not to say that it isn’t good practice to count your strokes, because it is.

CliffCurry
    Participant
    • Topics: 42
    • Replies: 461