Advanced Search

Edge retention

Recent Forums Main Forum Welcome Mat Edge retention

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    Craig somers
    Participant
    • Topics: 1
    • Replies: 3

Hi everyone, i got my wicked edge a few months ago after paying crazy import charges!(i live in Scotland!). I’ve sharpened loads of knives now and am slowly getting more competent using the WE. The only issue i have is that the knives don’t seem to stay sharp as long as they do when they have a factory edge. I progress up from all the stones included in the pro pack so 100/200, 400/600, 800/1000 and then stropping. Should i only take the edges to say 600 then strop for example?

I use a large variety of knives as i am a chef by trade and have several brands, Global, Shun, Whusthof Ikon, and several handmade japanese.

Also when just touching up i just use the 800/1000 then strop.

p.s. can’t stop sharpening!!!

Ken Buzbee
    Participant
    • Topics: 14
    • Replies: 393

Generally 600-800 grit finishes will last longer than highly polished edges. But as a chef, they may not meet your requirements. Only you can decide that.

One caveat is to make sure you’ve removed any trace of a burr as this can feel very sharp but is fragile and will fail quickly.

There is no inherent reason for a WE edge to be less long lived than a factory edge, in fact my experience is exactly the opposite.

What progression are you using? ie … What kind of stroke in which direction? EG – heel to tip edge leading

(Also, you might try NOT stropping, it doesn’t always help, depending)

Ken

Mark76
    Participant
    • Topics: 179
    • Replies: 2760

Hi Craig,

Welcome to the forum!

Hi everyone, i got my wicked edge a few months ago after paying crazy import charges!(i live in Scotland!).

You could have done smarter 🙂 . There are WEPS dealers in The Netherlands, Germany and France. All EU, so no import taxes.

p.s. can’t stop sharpening!!!

Enjoy your WEPS!